Loudon County Code Orange

.

Loudon Smokestack Pollution

 

Air Quality Action Day

By: Pat Hunter

Loudon County does not meet ozone and fine particulate matter federal clean air regulations. Loudon,   Knox and surrounding counties were declared in "non-attainment" by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA.)

Loudon County and surrounding counties are under a Code Orange Health Advisory. A Code Orange Health Message means that active children and adults, and people with lung disease, such as asthma, should reduce prolonged or heavy exertion outdoors. Remain indoors in a cool place. The EPA recommends limited outdoor activities as ozone levels rise to unhealthy levels.

CODE ORANGE ACTION DAYS - too numerous

More bad air days to add to the growing list of Ozone Alert days. School is back in session and outdoor activities should be carefully monitored by the adults in charge.

The EPA has issued an Ozone Alert Action Day for August 22, 21, 20, 19, 18, 17, 15, 14, 13, and 12th. August 5, Aug. 4, and August 3rd were also declared Ozone Alert Action Days by the EPA. Before that - it wasn't too long ago that Loudon County was facing the 6th straight day of Code Orange Action days. July 16, July 17, July 18, July 19, July 20 and July 21 were declared a code Orange Air Quality Action Day, which was in effect for Knox, Loudon, Anderson, Union, Grainger, Hamblen-Northwest, Cocke, Roane, Jefferson Northwest, Blount-North and Sevier counties. Ground level ozone concentrations are expected to approach or exceed unhealthy standards.

 

Is ground level Ozone Harmful to health?

Yes. If you are a typical adult, you'll breathe in close to 2,000 gallons of air in a single day. Living with ground level ozone-pollution, you may see your lung function reduced.

High concentrations of ozone can cause shortness of breath, coughing, wheezing, fatigue, headaches, nausea, chest pain, and eye and throat irritation. The most common symptom that people have when exposed to ozone while exercising is pain when taking a deep breath.

There are six groups of people who are most vulnerable:

 SOURCE: Valley Air NOW

 

STEPS YOU CAN TAKE TO REDUCE AIR POLLUTION

∑ Choose a cleaner commute (share a ride to work or use public transportation).

∑ Modify plant/store operations to reduce combustion sources (reduces NOx) and
conserve energy.

∑ Limit engine idling, skip the drive thru.

∑ Conserve energy (cut back A/C, turn off appliances/light, and close blinds).

∑ Postpone lawn mowing and filling of gas tanks until evening.

∑ Donít burn leaves or trash.

∑ Take your lunch to work or walk to a nearby restaurant.

∑ Combine errands.Ē

SOURCE: Enviroflash

Air quality conditions and forecasts: http://www.airnow.gov/index.cfm?action=airnow.fcsummary

Ground level ozone: http://www.epa.gov/air/ozonepollution/

Particulates EPA: http://www.epa.gov/air/particles/

Particulates and health EPA: http://www.epa.gov/air/particles/health.html

 

CODE ORANGE ALERT

AIR QUALITY ACTION DAY

OZONE HEALTH ALERT: Active children and adults, people with lung disease, such as asthma, should reduce prolonged or heavy exertion outdoors.

PARTICLES 2.5 Health Message: Unusually sensitive people should consider reducing prolonged or heavy exertion.

 

LOUDON COUNTY OZONE ACTION DAYS:

 

August 22, Friday

August 21, Thursday

August 20, Wednesday

August 19, Tuesday

August 18, Monday

August 17, Sunday

August 15, Friday

August 14, Thursday

August 13, Wednesday

August 12, Tuesday

August 5, Tuesday

August 4, Monday

August 3, Sunday

Monday, July 21

Sunday, July 20

Saturday, July 19

Friday, July 18

Thursday, July 17

Wednesday, July 16

 

BACK

08-04-2008