It ain't over 'til the fat lady sings



1, 2, 5 & 6 District races pending Aug. 5

By: Pat Hunter

After Tuesday's May 4th Republican and Democratic Primary election several candidates are at the half way point and until all the votes are tallied, as the old saying goes “It ain't over 'til the fat lady sings.” Voters must wait until the August 5 Loudon County General election to learn who will serve on Loudon County Commission for numerous district races. Commission races yet to be determined will be (Lenoir City) 1st District, Seat B; (Loudon) 2nd District, Seat A; (Eaton – Browder) 5th District Seat A and Seat B, and 6th District. Here’s a breakdown by commission district race yet to be determined:

1st District, Seat A

One huge upset was 1st District, Seat A race and when all the votes were tallied Brian A. Jenkins won over 8 year incumbent Commissioner Nancy Marcus and challengers Bill Culvahouse and Kevin E. Walker.  Commissioner Marcus’s husband is Bill Marcus, school board member.   

1st District, Seat B


Eight year incumbent Commissioner David Meers had no opposition in the Republican Primary. Meers will face Sarah Dailey (1st District, Seat B) in August 5 County General Election.


2nd District, Seat A


F.C. (Frank Hawn) had no opposition in the Republican Primary. Hawn will face off with Democrat incumbent Commissioner Earlena Maples and Independent candidate Daryl E. Miller (2nd District, Seat A) in August.


4th District


Forty year incumbent Commission (Chairman) Roy Bledsoe narrowly won re-election by challenger Mike Newman and Gregory Hackney. Bledsoe will face no opposition in August. Mike Newman is the brother of school board Chairman Scott Newman.


5th District, Seat A


Sixteen year (16) year incumbent Harold Duff was challenged by Teresa Karimian. Duff won the Republican Primary race. Commissioner Duff will face challenger Robert Dishner in August.


5th District, Seat B


Sharon Yarbrough will face Pat Hunter (5th District, Seat B) in August. Yarbrough faced two other challengers in the Republican Primary election. When all the votes were tallied Yarbrough won over challengers Bart Howell and Ken Shockley. Sharon Yarbrough’s husband is Gary Ubben school board Vice Chairman (5th District Seat A).


6th District


The winner of the Republican and Democratic Primary race will face one another in the August 5 County General Election. Republican candidate Stephen Harrelson easily won over challenger Dennis Mauldenhaur. Democratic candidate 4 year incumbent Commissioner Wayne Gardin will face Stephen (Steve) Harrelson in August. Harrelson currently serves on the school board.  


Commissioners Austin Shaver (2nd District, Seat B), Bob Franke (District 3) and Don Miller (District 7) faced no opposition in the May 4th Primary election. With no challengers for Aug. 5th, all three incumbents will return to serve a 4 year term.