Your right to know


How they voted on thumb printing

By: Pat Hunter

March 15, 2009

The Nashville Tennessean newspaper published an article about how House state lawmakers on a proposed thumb printing bill.

According to the article the vote took place on Thursday, March 12th and the measure passed by 82-11, to eliminate thumbprint requirements when buying guns.

"Voting yes were 49 Republicans and 33 Democrats. Voting no were 11 Democrats."

"Speaker Kent Williams is identified as a Republican in this list. He has had his Republican credentials stripped by the state party, but still caucuses with the House GOP."

Our area lawmakers are highlighted in yellow for your convenience. The news article grouped the lawmakers by party. 



Mike Bell, Riceville

Harry Brooks, Knoxville

Kevin Brooks, Cleveland

Joe Carr, Lascassas

Stacey Campfield, Knoxville

Glen Casada, Franklin

Jim Cobb, Spring City

Jim Coley, Bartlett

Vince Dean, East Ridge

Vance Dennis, Savannah

Bill Dunn, Knoxville

Jimmy Eldridge, Jackson

Joshua Evans, Greenbrier

Chad Faulkner, Luttrell

Richard Floyd, Chattanooga

Curtis Halford, Dyer

Michael Harrison, Sneedville

Beth Halteman Harwell, Nashville

David Hawk, Greeneville

Ryan Haynes, Knoxville

Joey Hensley, Hohenwald

Matthew Hill, Jonesborough

Curtis Johnson, Clarksville

Phillip Johnson, Pegram

Brian Kelsey, Germantown

Ron Lollar, Bartlett

Jon Lundberg, Bristol

Susan Lynn, Mt. Juliet

Debra Young Maggart, Hendersonville

Judd Matheny, Tullahoma

Jimmy Matlock, Lenoir City

Joe McCord, Maryville

Gerald McCormick, Chattanooga

Steve McDaniel, Parkers Crossroads

Steve McManus, Cordova

Richard Montgomery, Sevierville

Jason Mumpower, Bristol

Frank Niceley, Strawberry Plains

Bob Ramsey, Maryville

Barrett Rich, Somerville

Dennis Roach, Rutledge

Donna Rowland, Murfreesboro

Charles Sargent, Franklin

Tony Shipley, Kingsport

Eric Swafford, Pikeville

Curry Todd, Collierville

Eric Watson, Cleveland

Terri Lynn Weaver, Lancaster

Speaker Kent Williams, Elizabethton


Joe Armstrong, Knoxville

Judy Barker, UnionCity

Eddie Bass, Prospect

Stratton Bone, Lebanon

Willie Borchert, Camden

Curt Cobb, Shelbyville

Ty Cobb, Columbia

Kent Coleman, Murfreesboro

Charles Curtiss, Sparta

Dennis Ferguson, Midtown

Henry Fincher, Cookeville

Craig Fitzhugh, Ripley

George Fraley, Winchester

Jim Hackworth, Clinton

Bill Harmon, Dunlap

Sherry Jones, Nashville

Mike Kernell, Memphis

John Litz, Morristown

Mark Maddox, Dresden

Michael Ray McDonald, Portland

Gary Moore, Joelton

Gary Odom, Nashville

Joe Pitts, Clarksville

Janis Sontany, Nashville

Mike Stewart, Nashville

John Tidwell, New Johnsonville

Harry Tindell, Knoxville

Joe Towns, Memphis

Mike Turner, Old Hickory

Ben West, Hermitage

John Mark Windle, Livingston

Les Winningham, Huntsville

Eddie Yokley, Greeneville


Tommie Brown, Chattanooga

Karen Camper, Memphis

Joanne Favors, Chattanooga

G. A. Hardaway, Memphis

Ulysses Jones Jr., Memphis

Larry Miller, Memphis

Jimmy Naifeh, Covington

Mary Pruitt, Nashville

Jeanne Richardson, Memphis

Johnny Shaw, Bolivar

Larry Turner, Memphis


Barbara Cooper, Memphis

John Deberry, Memphis

Lois DeBerry, Memphis

Brenda Gilmore, Nashville


Dale Ford, Jonesborough

David Shepard, Dickson

SOURCE:  The Tennessean

(AP News March 13, 2009)